2021 Town of Winthrop Election Results


Christian Buonopane, Editor

Winthrop held it’s biennial town election on Tuesday, November 2nd.

The positions up for election were:


Town Council President: 2 candidates

Precinct 5 Councilor: 1 candidate

Precinct 3 Councilor: 3 candidates

Precinct 1 Councilor: 1 candidate

3 School Committee Seats: 7 candidates

1 Housing Authority Seat: 1 candidate

3 Library Trustee Seats: 5 candidates

1 Councilor At-Large Seat: 1 candidate


Current Precinct 2 Town Councilor Jim Letterie beat Incumbent Town Council President Phil Boncore with 1,807 votes, with Boncore getting 1,108 votes.


Joseph Aiello ran unopposed for Precinct 5 Councilor, and received 456 votes.


Hannah Belcher won the election for Precinct 3 Councilor, receiving 235 votes, Jeremy “Scott” Mahoney-Wright received 128 votes, and Amy Pascar received 63 votes.


Richard Fucillo ran unopposed for Precinct 1 Councilor, and received 411 votes.


Out of the 7 candidates running for School Committee, 3 seats were open. Incumbent Julie Barry received the most votes with 1,461 votes, incumbent Jen Powell followed with 1,370 votes, and Suzanne Leonard received 1,134 votes. Barry, Powell, and Leonard were all elected, with Barry and Powell being re-elected. Celeste Heinonen came in 4th place with 938 votes, followed by Layne Petrie in 5th with 853 votes. Brianna Molloy followed in 6th place with 598 votes, and Ellen Galuris placed 7th with 443 votes.


Peter Gill ran unopposed for Housing Authority, and was re-elected with 2,218 votes. 


As for Library Trustee, Gillian Texeira was re-elected with the most votes, 1,572, and Betty Peabody was also re-elected with 1,435 votes. Marie Matarazzo will be a new Library Trustee, as she placed third with 1,274 votes. Laura Marie Christopher and Alyssa True placed 4th and 5th, with Christopher receiving 1,059 votes and True receiving 765 votes. Neither were elected. 


Robert DeMarco ran unopposed for Councilor At-Large, and received 2,044 votes. 


Congratulations to all of the new elects, as well as those who were not elected. All candidates will be sworn in in January 2022.